Saturday, January 22, 2005

Final list of sponsors


From: Brent White
Date: Thu Jan 20, 2005 11:46 pm
Subject: Final list of sponsors

Hi folks,

Thanks to the hundreds of calls to Olympia y'all made the past two days, the sponsorhip lists on HB 1335 and SB 5326 grew a little.

The final list of sponsors for HB 1335 is:
Toby Nixon
Al O'Brien
Fred Jarrett
Geoff Simpson
Jim Moeller
Bill Fromhold
Timm Ormsby
Maralyn Chase
Sherry Appleton
Dawn Morrell
Judy Clibborn
Ruth Kagi
Lynn Kessler
Tami Green
Jeff Morris
Bob Hasegawa
Jim Dunn
Shay Schual-Berke
Phyllis Kenney
Alex Wood
Mary Lou Dickerson
Joe McDermott

That's 23 altogether! Great job! If one or both of your representatives is listed here, they would certainly be delighted to receive notes of thanks.Their email addresses are listed at

HB 1335 has been referred to the House Local Government Committee, where Chairman Geoff Simpson will decide whether and when to give it a hearing. The fact that Rep. Simpson is a co-sponsor is obviously a good sign. He, too, deserves some notes of thanks, especially from those in the south KingCounty area, as well as those of you in Vancouver, with an expressed hope that the bill will get a speedy hearing.

The final list of sponsors for SB 5326 is:
Craig Pridemore
Luke Esser
Adam Kline
Brian Weinstein
Erik Poulsen
Bill Finkbeiner
Rosemary McAuliffe
Karen Keiser
Harriet Spanel

That makes 10 sponsors on the senate bill. Not shabby at all. Again, notes of thanks to your senator (if she or he signed on) are good. Email addresses are at

SB 5326 has been referred to the Senate Government Operations and Elections Committee, chaired by Jim Kastama. If you live in the Pierce County area (or Vancouver), it is time to start emailing Sen. Kastama, thank him for his past support for IRV, and asking him to give SB 5326 a speedy hearing.

Thanks everyone! -- especially phone bankers Taryn Gearhart, Nikki Monacelli, Jody Haug, Tom Mull, Paul McClintock, and Maynard Eyestone.

Cheers, Brent White
Legislative Coordinator, IRV-WA

No comments: